B. Saroja Devi

  • Birthday: 07. January 1938
  • Birthplace: Bengaluru
  • Awards: 2008 Life Time Achievement Award by the Government of India, 1969 Padma Shri, 1992 Padma Bhushan, Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award – South (1994), 2010 Lifetime achievement award by the Government of Tamil Nadu, 2009 Dr.Rajkumar National award by the Government of Karnataka, 2009 N.T.R. National Award from Government of Andhra Pradesh for the second time for the year 2009, 2006 Honorary Doctorate from Bangalore University, 1989 Karnataka Government’s Rajyothsava award, 1980 Abhinandana-Kanchana Mala award by Karnataka State, 1965 Abhinya Saraswathy award by Karnataka Government


B. Saroja Devi (born 7 January 1938) is an Indian actress. She has acted in Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Hindi movies. She is referred to as "Kannadathu Paingili" (meaning Kannada's Parrot) by Tamil film industry and as "Abinaya Saraswathi" by Kannada Film Industry. She has acted in nearly 190 films in a period of 6 decades. Saroja Devi is one of the most successful female film stars in the history of Indian cinema and she was at her peak as the main female lead heroine in films in the period 1958-85. Saroja Devi received the Padma Sri, the fourth-highest civilian honour, in 1969 and Padma Bhushan, third highest civilian award, in 1992 from the Government of India. She holds the world record for being the actress with most number of concsecutive films as the lead heroine -161 films from 1955-1984, without playing supporting roles. She is the Indian film heroine with the longest career as the main lead female heroine in Indian films - 29 years from 1955-1984.